![]() |
Image Credit: Tanuj Singh / X |
Come to England for a series, and one thing you’re almost guaranteed—especially if you're winning—is a wave of accusations. Akash Deep’s delivery that bowled Joe Root was no exception, with many questioning its legality. But now, the MCC has issued an official statement that clears the air and settles the controversy once and for all.
In a clarification that has put to rest a hotly debated moment from the ongoing Test series between India and England, the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has ruled that Akash Deep’s delivery to dismiss Joe Root was, in fact, legal. The moment, which sparked instant controversy both on-air and online, saw the Indian seamer uproot Root’s off-stump with a jaffa that had many—including commentators—believing it should have been called a no-ball due to his front foot appearing to land beyond the popping crease.
However, in a statement posted on X, MCC — the custodians of the Laws of Cricket — confirmed that Akash Deep’s foot had landed with part of the heel behind the crease, making it a fair delivery under Law 21.5.1. This law defines a legal delivery as one where "some part of the bowler’s front foot, whether grounded or raised, must be behind the popping crease at the moment of landing."
The delivery in question occurred during a pivotal moment of the match. Joe Root, England’s most experienced batter, had just begun to settle in when Akash Deep produced a seaming beauty that beat his bat and sent his off stump cartwheeling. Immediately, replays sparked chatter, as the bowler’s foot appeared marginally over the line. Commentators Jonathan Trott and Alison Mitchell voiced concern, suggesting the dismissal could be overturned if the delivery was retrospectively deemed illegal.
But the MCC’s technical breakdown silenced much of the noise. “The Laws state that it is the first point of landing of the foot that determines legality. In this case, part of the heel landed behind the crease, making it a fair delivery,” the club clarified.
The ruling comes as a relief for Akash Deep, who had already made headlines for his impressive debut series, and for umpire Nitin Menon, who did not call a no-ball in real time.
The incident also reignited debate over whether commentators should be more cautious when suggesting officiating errors, as such remarks can fuel unnecessary controversy and mislead viewers.
With the MCC now weighing in definitively, Akash Deep’s delivery stands not just as a match-altering ball—but a legally flawless one.
Post a Comment
Post a Comment